Beginning a Journey

On my own journey I must go.
Now wandering through this forgotten wood,
While lost, I still stride to and fro.

When shall I come to cease my woe?
I am lost in the verdant where I stood.
On my own journey I must go.

My call of adventure, I know.
To embark on it must be understood.
While lost, I still stride to and fro.

This fate of mine was set long ago.
Setting forth on it, knowing that I would,
On my own journey I must go.

A light in these woods the stars show,
The guidance shining for my own self’s good.
While lost, I still stride to and fro.

Fate’s rays guide I, lost far below.
Calling me from far beyond the dark wood.
On my own journey I must go.
While lost, I still stride to and fro.

On my journey I’ve come to fear.
Thinking perhaps to abandon all hope,
Yet home is way far from what’s near.

Abandoning all that is dear,
Should I turn away, or must I still cope?
On my journey I’ve come to fear.

This hour, my heart is so mere.
Weary with these burdens, my heart shall grope.
Yet home is way far from what’s near.

The road ahead remains unclear.
Into the unknown lands I must elope.
On my journey I’ve come to fear.

Fearing the devils to appear,
Blinded by the despair of my fate’s scope.
Yet home is way far from what’s near.

To go way beyond the frontier.
Through this darkness shall be gained hope.
On my journey I’ve come to fear.
Yet home is way far from what’s near.

“Writing is a struggle against silence.”~Carlos Fuentes

Leave a Reply

